St. James The Apostle Anglican Church

"A Vibrant Christian Community"

Parish of St. James


The parish of St.James can be traced back as early as 1854, then the Parish of Channel and served areas from Port aux Basques, Isle aux Morts to Codroy. St. James became a parish on its own in 1982. The present St. James church first opened for Divine service on June 12, 1927. St. James now has approximately 800 families on its' register. 

 St. James is a vibrant worshiping community, dedicated to serving the Lord, inspired by the Holy Spirit in what we do.  At St. James we worship every sunday morning at 8:30am Holy Communion BCP and 10:00am Holy Eucharist BAS, and on special occasion we plan worship for other times. The Sacrament of Holy Baptism is scheduled for the fourth sunday of every month at the 10:00am service followed by a fellowship brunch.

We have Godly Play for our children, a servers group and a two year program with our  confirmation group, youth Alpha the first year and second year we offer the diocesan program, Grow in the Spirit. Our ACW is very active in many areas of ministry, as is the Altar Guild, vestry, lay ministers, and pastoral visitors.   Bible study and prayer groups meet regularly. We have many willing and dedicated volunteers, there is never lack of something to do at St. James, yet there is so much more waiting to be done. St. James presently has one clergy on staff, Rev. Canon Hannah Dicks and a half-time Parish Secretary, Mrs. Wanda Lomond.  St. James Memorial Centre located on the north side of the church, was opened on December 7th, 1997. It holds the church hall, our Godly Play rooms, board room, Parish office and the Rector's Office. 

The Parish Office hours:  monday - friday, 1:00pm - 5:00pm.  


Rev. Canon Hannah Dicks 2010 -  present rector

Rev. Dr. Hugh Fudge 2001 - 2008

Rev. Nelson G. Small 1994 - 2001

Rev. James Eveleigh 1988 - 1994

Rev. Canon Leonard Whitten 1977 - 1988

Rev. Owen Coffin 1970 - 1977

Rev. Harris Batten 1968 - 1970

Rev. Edward Leyte 1960 - 1968

Rev. Canon George Martin 1936 - 1968

Rev. Canon Horatio Read 1898 - 1936

Rev. Llewellyn Godden 1892 - 1898

Rev. Whitfield Rommely 1890 - 1892

Rev. William S. Rafter 1887 - 1890

Rev. T. P. Quinton 1884 - 1887

Rev. T. A. Goode 1870 - 1883

Rev. Wellman Wm. LeGallias  1857 - 1869

Rev. J. DuVal 1854 - 1857 

Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.